Book Review: Anchor in the Storm

This semester I decided to put blogging on the back burner indefinitely, so that I could focus on school with a little less stress. I made a few posts on my secondary, more personal, blog (Brave Faith Adventure), but my book blog remained entirely dormant. This was very beneficial for me, and when grades were finalized today I officially have another semester of straight A’s! This turned out being a busier semester than I expected, from being homecoming chair for one of the organizations I am in, to being in a major presentation of Handel’s Messiah, to being involved with my local church, among other things and on top of the normal amount of research papers and schoolwork. Additionally, I submitted a paper to the Sigma Tau Delta (international English society) 2017 convention, and have been accepted to present it next Spring! Because of all this, I did not have much time to read for myself. I did do a substantial amount of reading for classes, in each of my areas of study: literature, philosophy, and political science. One specific class, Transatlantic Modernism, was especially interesting. I read a lot of more recent(ish) classics, and feel like I truly have a firm grasp on the development of English literature throughout the 20th century. I considered reviewing a few of these, but there has already been so much said about these works by people much more skilled than I am.

One of the few “for-fun” books I was able to read this semester was the second book of Sarah Sundin’s Waves of Freedom series, Anchor in the Storm. I am a big fan of Sundin’s works, and this book met my high expectations. The story, set in the early 1940’s, focuses around Lillian Avery. Lillian is an ambitious young woman who has just graduated from pharmacy school but has faced frequent rejection because she has a prosthetic leg. Her brother Jim, who was the focus of the first Waves of Freedom book, has found a job and apartment for her in Boston, so up she moves full of hope and determination for starting a new life. She soon finds herself falling for her brother’s best friend, Arch. As their friendship blossoms into something more, both must overcome the effects of previous disappointments and pain and learn to be honest with one another.

Alongside Lillian and Arch’s gradually growing romance, Arch uncovers a mystery. After surviving a significant attack on their boat, Arch and some of his shipmates begin experiencing what they call combat fatigue but would now be called Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder. At this point in history, little was known about the condition, but it was beginning to be recognized. Unfortunately, with no real treatments available, many of the = men on Arch’s ship turn to self-medicating, which leads to a dangerous drug ring onboard the ship. Arch and Lillian work from opposite sides of the shore to uncover the details of this operation, bringing each of them into dangerous situations.

Like every one of Sundin’s books that I have read, she seamlessly creates a historically accurate world in which a mystery unfolds alongside a sweet, modest romance. I thoroughly enjoyed diving into 1940’s America every chance I got, despite how rare those opportunities have been recently. The next book in the series is set to come out in Spring of 2017, and I am eagerly looking forward to it.

I have one more semester to get through in order to receive my first degree. At this point, blogging is still not necessarily a priority for me, but it is something I enjoy and hope to find time to do occasionally. At the end of this semester, I expect a lot of things to change in my life. For now, this blog is going to remain in semi-hibernation. Hopefully I will do a lot of reading over the next month while I am between school semesters, and be able to get a few more posts out. Regardless, I hope you have enjoyed this update and review, and have a Merry Christmas and blessed start to the new year!

 

A version of this review also appears on my blog Brave Faith Adventure.

One thought on “Book Review: Anchor in the Storm

  1. Thank you for the wonderful review! I’m glad you enjoyed Arch & Lillian’s story. And congratulations on your great grades 🙂

Leave a Reply

