Book Review: Juliet Immortal by Stacey Jay

For the most part, I try to keep my reviews here to things that I would recommend to people; books that I liked or at least got some positive message from. This, however, is the opposite. I did not like this book at all, and I do not recommend that anyone read it.

The premise is that Juliet (of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet) was actually murdered by Romeo, who had been promised immortality if he sacrificed her. She didn’t quite die though. She was taken into the ranks of the Ambassadors, supernatural beings who supposedly fight for true love and have gained the immortality Romeo was promised by their rivals, the Mercenaries. Now Juliet, when not spending incalculable time in the mists of forgetting, jumps into girls’ bodies in order to fight for soul mates to come together while at the same time dear Romeo takes on the body of a nearby dead person, restoring its flesh, and fights against Juliet.

My biggest issues with this have nothing to do with the cliches running rampant throughout the story, as I expected a lot of that.

First of all, there are so many levels of deception that even after finishing the book I am still not sure who the good guys really were. I can’t enjoy a book when I don’t know which characters I am supposed to be rooting for. This book was like one continual plot twist; I could never get a real grasp on the big picture of what was happening. There is also an excessive amount of subplots, which increase the difficulty of keeping straight who is who and who is working for what. I just couldn’t keep up.

What I had the most problem with was the creepy supernatural elements. Not only was it difficult to figure out which of the supernatural beings were good and which were not due to their large amounts of secrets, not even threir goals are known for certain by the end of the book. Add in the gorey skeletons which follow around Romeo and Juliet which no one can explain, the fact that Romeo’s face is litterally rotting off of him by the end, and the fact that Juliet *almost* dies at least 4 times in the book, and I’m out. Additionally, Juliet’s views of death and what comes next are warped. Which is understandable, seeing how many times she thinks she is dying in this story only to be brought back to life by some old magic. Regardless, it was disturbing.

Everything about this book is weird. There is just no better way to say it. It is creepy, and I was not expecting a zombies-and-vampires story at all. That’s essentially what this is. Skinwalkers, vampires who feed on the love or death of humans, zombies who work for the vampires, and a whole host of “do I have a soul? Does he?” questions which did nto help the story (and it could have used a lot of help). Maybe a Tim Burton fan could find something to enjoy in this, but I definitely cannot. If this was on your to-read list, remove it. It is not worth the time spent reading it.

Leave a Reply

