Required Reading: Occasionally Beneficial, but Not Today

I hate when reading for school gets in the way of reading for pleasure. Throughout the past few months, the only significant reading I have been doing has been for classes, so most of the books were not that interesting. There is only one I feel the need to mention, and before I do so I will say that this is not a book I would recommend to anyone. The last book I read for my Into to Political Science class was called The Party Is Over. The premise of the book is an explanation by someone who has been inside American politics as to why the political system is not working. It ends up being a 225-page rant on corruption, greed, and personal jadedness. The author is entirely unprofessional, frequently using name-calling and patronization as attempts at making a point. There are examples to back up some of his statements, but they are not deeply examined. Without some background on what is going on, I do not feel like they give enough reason for the disproportionate claims. This is not an analysis, it is the memoirs of an angry man. I gained no useful knowledge from reading it, and could not read a single page without wanting to roll my eyes and stop reading. Both main political parties, Republican and Democrat, were insulted, but so was I due to the fact that this book showed only surface-level investigation and no real reason as to why I should have a similar level of distrust towards the political structure. Intelligent readers deserve better than this. I am so ready to have a break from required reading books, and a chance to read what I can enjoy and learn from.

Leave a Reply

