Book Review: Across the Universe by Beth Revis

I finished reading Across the Universe by Beth Revis about two days ago. I am very disappointed by this book. I had heard it was great, and was intrigued by the cover text and topic. What’s between the covers, however, did not live up to my expectations. For the most part, I enjoy science fiction and futuristic dystopian stories, but this one was just too strange. Elder, who is sixteen and next in line to lead the ship, has learned next to nothing about the ship he lives on and will soon lead, but then in less than a week of looking at things behind his instructor’s back discovers all its secrets. The fact that he is lying throughout the entire book until the very end doesn’t help his character any either. The pace of the story was awkward; at times it dragged on, with nothing of importance happening in entire chapters, sometimes while there had to be something exciting (or at least more energetic) going on from the alternate point of view. This attempt to create suspense only frustrated me. As for Amy, the female protagonist…I don’t have much to say. She is weak and whiny. I understand that she goes through intense trauma, both physical and mental, but still, I don’t want to read about someone who is wishing for her parents to appear every other sentence. The entire story just never really clicked for me, I wasn’t drawn in or excited by it. Sadly, I will not be reading the rest of the books in this series and would not recommend this book to anyone else.

Leave a Reply

